TwitCount Button

Today, I will be showcasing a current household favourite by writer and blogger, Saraswati.

V and I were voracious readers, growing up and I am glad to see that Gy seems to be picking up the reading habit too. Currently, she is captivated by stories of Indian mythology and keeping this in mind, V took her to a bookstore to pick out books for her last birthday.

It was then that they chanced upon Draupadi: The Fire-Born Princess, a graphic novel Β written by Saraswati Nagpal and illustrated by Manu.

Although the story of the Mahabharata is a familiar one, what makes this book different is the perspective. It is narrated in the first person and through the eyes of the protagonist, Draupadi.

In a very unique manner, the writer uses the non-linear narrative approach. She begins the story at the end of the tale, with Draupadi walking towards her mortal end. As she looks up and sees her husbands ahead of her, her mind flashes back to the time that she was a princess, her courtship, her life as a queen, the humiliation at the hands of a monster, the agony of exile, the poignant strength she exhibited in the war and the way she dealt with each and every one of those roles.

How does she react to all of the above? With revenge? With compassion? With subdued defiance?

That is what the book covers with fluidity and ease.

Draupadi is depicted as a dark, peerless beauty and that is one of my favourite things about the book. There is, sadly, an obsession with fairness of skin and its equation to beauty in the current, media-controlled scenario. To see a woman be glorified for her strength of character and her humanity is far more beautiful, in my opinion, than the transient physical beauty we can view.

What makes the book stand out:

  • The first page has a simple, yet attractive family tree which traces the lineage of the Kuru clan from Manu, the progenitor till Pareekshit. My daughter knows the relationships between the characters exceedingly well, thanks to this feature.
  • The book has an appeal that cuts across age barriers. If my seven-year-old daughter is drawn to the book, I wouldn’t say that holds much credence. But, when my husband and my mother-in-law also picked up the book and couldn’t put it down, I knew this one was a winner.
  • Its Β comic-book format is a huge plus when it comes to introducing your child to reading Mythology. My daughter started out with the Amar Chitra Katha series and progressed to this one seamlessly.
  • The illustration is bewitchingly beautiful and does complete justice to the gripping narration. Nuanced strokes and bold, sharp lines bring out the fire and passion that embody Draupadi’s nature. Manu is an illustrator to look out for, in the coming years.
This is Saraswati’s second book in the graphic novel genre, the first being Sita: Daughter of the Earth.

You can read more about the author here and check out other books in the Campfire series here.

A more detailed review of Draupadi can be found at this link.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Like this post? Share the love using the colourful share buttons below πŸ™‚ Thank you!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Note: This post contains affiliate links to the Amazon Affiliate programme. What that means is if you buy an item on the site through this link, I will get a referral fee, at no additional cost to you. I recommend all items only after reviewing/ using them myself.Β  If you do buy through this link, I thank you for your support.

***


Comments

comments


45 Comments

Carrie Ann Tripp · March 5, 2014 at 4:29 am

While this is not my cup of tea, I have some students who might enjoy this very much. Thank you for sharing such a well-written review.

Kajal · March 5, 2014 at 4:32 am

This looks interesting. I might try this one

    Shailaja · May 28, 2017 at 8:31 pm

    Hope you tried it and liked it too, Kajal πŸ™‚

Swethaprajwala · March 5, 2014 at 4:35 am

Shailaja, your review has made want to read this novel. M is showing a lot of interest in mythology too. I guess we will read it together πŸ™‚

    Shailaja · May 28, 2017 at 8:32 pm

    Did M read it yet? I am sure she would have loved it πŸ™‚ Thanks, Swetha!

Psych Babbler · March 5, 2014 at 4:51 am

I think I would have liked this as a kid…used to read a lot of mythology then but don't do that any more…

    Shailaja · May 28, 2017 at 8:33 pm

    I know what you mean. Something shifts every now and then in our reading tastes. I do hope you pick it up though πŸ™‚

Ishithaa Bhavya · March 5, 2014 at 5:18 am

I absolutely loved the cover illustration! And you have got me interested in this book I must say!

    Shailaja · May 28, 2017 at 8:35 pm

    So glad to hear that, Bhavya πŸ™‚

Roshan Radhakrishnan · March 5, 2014 at 5:30 am

I'm actually really glad you chose a graphic novel. I feel they are very underrated. The recent trend of Indian graphic novels is even more heartening.

sugandha · March 5, 2014 at 6:37 am

I have read Palace of Illusion and Yajnaseni, both are on Draupadi. I have never seized to admire the role she played as wife of pandavs, a catalyst in Mahabharat and more.

    Shailaja · May 28, 2017 at 8:45 pm

    Never heard of Yajnaseni but quite a few people seem to be recommending it. Will check it out soon πŸ™‚

iamstri · March 5, 2014 at 6:56 am

What a coincidence, I recently read this book and I felt the same.

    Shailaja · May 28, 2017 at 8:49 pm

    Glad to hear that, Sri πŸ™‚

Shilpa Garg · March 5, 2014 at 8:10 am

This sounds very interesting. I haven't read any graphic novel as yet. Your review is compelling me to check it out and may be A would like it too! Bookmarked this one πŸ™‚ Thanks Shailaja πŸ™‚

    Shailaja · May 28, 2017 at 8:56 pm

    Hope you enjoy it, Shilpa πŸ™‚

Sreeja Praveen · March 5, 2014 at 8:10 am

Draupadi is a woman protagonist we never cease to admire. I have always had a “how-will-it-be” attitude to a graphic novel, so this review wants me to read it now πŸ™‚
Well done, Shailaja.

And, yes, she was dark skinned, and she was also called 'Krishna', which meant the dark one. And the scriptures say, she smelt of lotus πŸ™‚ I love her as a woman πŸ™‚

    Shailaja · May 28, 2017 at 8:59 pm

    I hope you like it, Sreeja. Missing you on the blogging scene these days πŸ™‚

Jini Fernandez · March 5, 2014 at 8:13 am

Your review arouse my interest in this book. As always well-written.

Aarthy · March 5, 2014 at 9:11 am

The Mahabharatha is evergreen isn't it? I never tire of reading its various re-narrations from different perspectives. I would recommend two more books to you which are written along the same lines – that is Mahabharatha from Draupathi's perspective.
1. Yajnyaseni – By Prathiba Ray
2. Palace of Illusions – By Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni
both of them are amazing reads. Do try them out too.
A very well written review by you. Kudos!

Usha Menon · March 5, 2014 at 9:29 am

Such a fine review has created a great wish to read this book.

bhagyashree · March 5, 2014 at 9:42 am

Excellent review. I want to read I too. I have never got over my interest for comics πŸ™‚

Saraswati · March 5, 2014 at 11:30 am

Thanks, Shailja! It's always encouraging to know that your readers 'get' what you were trying to say. Draupadi as a short graphic novel was unbelievably hard to write – how do you condense Vyasa's Mahabharata? I am so glad that it is providing pleasure to so many people. Very grateful.

Shailaja V · March 5, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Saraswati, I am honoured that you visited my blog πŸ™‚ Thank you so much!

Yes, it couldn't have been easy to condense a massive text into such a taut novel. Kudos to you for that. I also picked up Sita, your first book, for a friend's daughter and I am glad to say she is devouring it. You have a wonderful gift. Keep writing.

Saraswati · March 5, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Thanks, Shailaja! Thank you for creating this space and sharing what inspires you.

Richa Singh · March 5, 2014 at 1:00 pm

What I really liked the most about the review as such is your point that it is age free. In my opinion any book that can cut across ages or genres is a must pick. Of course the fact that it is a graphic novel on a mythological subject is an icing on the cake!

Richa

Kalpana Solsi · March 5, 2014 at 1:09 pm

The ageless and timeless Indian epic Mahabharat never ceases to spring surprises despite its familiarity with the audience. Draupadi is a bold yet subtle protagonist , a feminist who took the heaps of injustices and insults with an easy calm but reminding her husbands of revenge. Your review of the book makes it more enigmatic.

Jyotsna Bhatia · March 5, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Hi5 for the coincidence Shailaja.. πŸ™‚ Even I would like to take this up since I have totally liked 'The Palace of Illusions'

tulika singh · March 5, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Oooh Mahabharat is a HOT favourite with all of us.. The Husband, kids and I.. all are fans of that great story. It has such twists and turns! And I love Draupadi – such a strong woman she was. But a comic?? Not sure that would appeal to me. Will certainly look it up when I'm at Landmark next.

grassflower14 · March 5, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Burning with curiosity to read this one. Plus Graphic Novels are easy on the eyes. Thanks for such a nice review.

jaish_vats · March 5, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Nice review. These epics are rarely seen from the female characters' perspective.

geeta nair · March 5, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Wonderful review. The book seems interesting.

sulekkha · March 5, 2014 at 7:59 pm

Great review, the book sounds very interesting and the cover pic is amazing. Will book mark it, thanks.

Dr. Gauri Kekre · March 5, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Will buy this for my Saee but maybe a year later. Great review πŸ™‚

Pixie · March 6, 2014 at 2:24 am

I love Mythology and I love comics ! So, its a great combination!
Thank you for this review – I will keep my eye out for it! πŸ™‚

vishalbheeroo · March 6, 2014 at 7:22 pm

Great review Shailja. I love mythology in a modern package where women like Sita and Draupadi are given a voice:)

Akshay Iyer · May 21, 2016 at 7:13 pm

Hi! The first thing that struck me about the beginning was the opening chapter of Pratibha Ray's Yajnaseni. While it would be unfair to compare books without reading this one, it does strike a parallel. In addition, I agree and often why there is a need to portray her as a “fair” princess when she was named Krishnaa, clearly stating that she had a dark skin. Summing up, it is a well written review and I will look forward to reading the book soon..

Roshan Radhakrishnan · May 28, 2017 at 8:27 pm

Indian graphic novels are rare but seriously underrated… graphic novels in general tend to be well written… some of the best stories (Watchmen, V for Vendetta) are pure classics with amazing themes and prose.

    Shailaja · May 28, 2017 at 8:29 pm

    So completely agree. I’ve actually picked up many from the campfire series because they are such a visual treat. Also, I disliked V for Vendetta, the movie, so not sure how much I’d like the book. What do you suggest?

Mithila Menezes · July 19, 2017 at 8:36 pm

I am currently interested in reading more and more about Indian Mythology, thanks to the Palace of Illusions. Draupadi’s POV is really captivating, and I surely want to get my hands on this graphic novel!

    Shailaja · July 20, 2017 at 9:23 am

    This is a fabulous one, Mithila πŸ™‚ Hope you enjoy it!

Pratikshya Mishra · May 23, 2018 at 8:43 am

I have swooned over these beautifully illustrated Campfire graphic novels for ages. They were too costly to buy then. I would check them out now.
Amar Chitra Katha has been a childhood companion. I have adored the beautiful picture stories for years.
Your daughter has great taste and good collection of books.

    Shailaja · May 23, 2018 at 11:15 am

    Oh believe me, they are worth the investment πŸ™‚ We buy at least one each month now πŸ˜€ She has good taste thanks to a lot of the books we picked out for her πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!